Hi Mommy, Welcome to PregnancyMommy. This time we will discuss about Can You Eat Hard Goats Cheese When Pregnant, Safe or Not?, hopefully the article we wrote can be useful for Mommy.
We all love a little cheese from time to time, and if you're craving some Cheddar on crackers or a delicious mozzarella salad, you may be wondering if it's safe to eat while pregnant.
It turns out that eating cheese when expected can sometimes be a little tricky due to the risk of listeria, a bacterium found in some types of cheese.
Listeria is dangerous during pregnancy as it can cause food poisoning.
Fitness, wellness guru and nutrition expert Penny Weston says, "Listeriosis is a rare infection caused by bacteria called listeria. It usually goes away on its own, but it can cause serious problems if you are pregnant or have a weak immune system. There is a small chance that it can lead to miscarriage, stillbirth, or make a newborn sick. Listeria can infect the placenta, amniotic fluid, and the baby and can cause miscarriage or stillbirth. Infected babies who survive are likely to be born prematurely. . '
Luckily, there's still plenty of cheese that is safe to eat when pregnant - we've selected 15 of the best ...
Which cheese is safe to eat during pregnancy?
All hard cheeses are safe to eat during pregnancy, as are some soft cheeses made with pasteurized milk. Below we have rounded up some of our favorite cheeses that you can still enjoy while pregnant.
Which cheese should i avoid in pregnancy?
Many soft cheeses should not be eaten during pregnancy, including brie, camembert, and chèvre (a type of goat cheese).
Apart from these, you should also avoid Danish blue cheese, gorgonzola and roquefort.
These soft, moist cheeses allow listeria bacteria to grow on them and although it is very rare, in some cases it is possible to contract a disease called listeriosis from this cheese which can harm the unborn baby.
The good news? You can enjoy any of these cheeses if they are cooked! So, if you're craving a melted camembert with bread, make sure it's piping hot (not just melted) before eating it.
What is unsafe to eat when pregnant?
What about vegan cheese?
In general, vegan cheese is safe to eat during pregnancy, however, they do not provide a good source of calcium and can often be highly processed.
According to Penny, vegan cheese is generally safe to consume during pregnancy.
"It is always advisable to have a thorough check of the ingredients and contact a doctor if you are concerned. To increase your calcium levels if you are having a vegan pregnancy you can consume more of the following foods, which are all rich in calcium: dark green leafy vegetables, legumes, fortified unsweetened soy, rice and oat based drinks, black and white bread, calcium tofu, sesame and tahini seeds, dried fruit. '